The Beast of Bourbon – Sour mash (1988)


The Beasts of Bourbon was a band born in the early eighties. Appear in Australian suburbs, from the dark of night and rest of dope. The band become quickly in a main number in Australian underground music scene. Almost their always has been a marginal project for the members: All of them have other bands.

Beasts of Bourbon were formed, in this record, by Tex Perkins (lead vocals and one those has been in all formations), Spencer Jones (guitar and formed member of all formation of the band), Kim Salmon (guitar), Boris Sujdovic (bass) and James Baker.

The music is dark, sad and whisky tasted. Yes brothers this band made truly outside rock and roll. Like all music you can find here, cause you know friend: Wirtis only share marginal ones. Not commercial music that it`s full of shit and commons places. Of course, you can tell me that said a thing like that is wrong in itself because call art this or that is a subjective act. The way I see an art object it`s only mine. Other people can see different from me (I know you thing that something like that is impossible, but could be happens)  and think Wirtis is a poor loser boy. And maybe they are right. More if I say that I have been feeling like that since some time ago. Yes brothers, Wirtis is sad because he feel that is a failure, a fucking looser for say it like it is.

My life is going under since I fail some project that I want to specify. So, like always when I feel everything is a shit (especially me), I began to search in my music library some music that get me away from reality. And this time a found (recover saying better) The Beats of Bourbon. I was forget how good was this band. I have forget how raw, dirty and deep is Perkin`s poetry. And I was forget (¡oh forgive me Tex!) how good musicians were they.  Because every one of Beast of Bourbon`s disc is a master piece of rock and roll. They are a mix between Nick Cave and AC/DC. Yes brother. If you are looking for good and deep rock and roll this is your band: The Beast of Bourbon. This is their second album. From 1988: “Sour mash”

 

Responder

